Raspberry Lemonade Bars

Someone pinch me. How is the middle of January already, I ask you?! We have been busy at my house. My husband recently found a job in a new city. In a new state. So we are selling our house, and moving! It all seems a bit surreal, and I definitely have mixed emotions. I am super proud of him and excited for our new start. We will live closer to my family and a lot of really wonderful friends. In a way, it feels like I am going home. However, I am saying goodbye to a place that has been home for 10 years. Where we met, went to school, and started our family. Where we have worked and started careers. Saying goodbye to friends and coworkers who have become family is going to be very, very tough. Selling the house, relocating, and finding a new job, a new daycare, and new housing is a daunting and anxiety-provoking to say the least.

DSC_0155

So, I’ve been eating my feelings.

DSC_0168

I recently made raspberry lemonade bars in order to better emotionally eat. These little babies are made from a lemon cake mix. I thought they would be cute for Valentine’s Day, so I used a heart shaped cookie cutter to make them more festive. They follow the same general recipe as these. Which came from inspiration here.

DSC_0157

Raspberry Lemonade Bars

Ingredients

One box of lemon cake mix

¼ cup of canola oil

1/3 – 1/2 cup of milk

1 egg, beaten

1 bag frozen raspberries

1/3 cup sugar

Directions

Preheat oven to 350. Line an 8×8 inch pan with parchment paper, and spray the parchment paper with cooking spray.

In a heavy saucepan combine raspberries and sugar. Heat on medium low, stirring frequently, until raspberries have released their juices and the mixture becomes a sauce.

Stir cake mix, canola oil, milk, and egg in a large bowl until just combined. Add milk slowly until the mixture is thick and all the dry ingredients have been absorbed.

Spread cake mixture into prepared pan.

Dollop raspberry sauce onto the cake mixture. Swirl the sauce into the batter using the blade of a knife.

Put cake mixture into your prepared pan and bake for 25-35 minutes, until the edges are brown and the bars have set.

Allow bars to cool for at least 30 minutes before slicing. If you are going to cut them into shapes, allow the bars to cool completely.

I hope you enjoy these! Leave me a comment and let me know what you think!

***

PS – fellow bloggers: how do you capture your food pictures nicely if you are working without natural light??

***

5 thoughts on “Raspberry Lemonade Bars

  1. These are so delicious and easy!!! I’m a huge fan. Just made a second batch with mixed berries — blueberries, blackberries, and raspberries — yummy!

Leave a Reply

