Butterfinger Blizzard Sandwich Cookies

   Growing up in a small town in the Midwest, going to Dairy Queen on warm summer nights was almost a prerequisite. Does anyone else remember the walk up Dairy Queens that would close in the winter months? In February, when hope is fading that we will ever see grass again, I always like something to anticipate. So, imagining a good Blizzard is fine by me. What is it about Blizzards anyway? I love them. Even more than Culver’s Mixers. That is saying a lot for a woman who has a Culver’s app and stalks her favorite flavors of the day. I have serious issues.

DSC_0246

Blizzards have the perfect amount of mix-ins. Some big pieces and some perfectly ground pieces that make each creamy bite has a little texture and a lot of flavor. {Excuse me, am I drooling?} My favorite blizzard flavor has always been Butterfinger. It’s the just-right combination of salty/sweet/creamy/crunchy that makes my heart sing. Oh, how I love warm summer nights, sitting outside the Dairy Queen enjoying my little piece of heaven.

DSC_0257

My love affair with Butterfinger Blizzards came from my mom, who introduced me to them. She is one smart woman, my mother. Other than her impeccable taste in Blizzard flavors, she is also a very, very hard worker. She once told my brother and I that “life is work!” This may not sound super scary, but in the moment, I’m pretty sure she was spitting fire. She may have also been throwing daggers with her eyeballs or something. She was essentially telling us not to be lazy, entitled, people. So, we did better. And (I hope) we aren’t.  Love you, Mom!

Butterfinger Blizzard Sandwich Cookies

Butterfinger Blizzard Sandwich Cookies

Anyhoo, the Life Is Work Lady recently retired, and I was lucky enough to go to her big retirement party. I decided that to honor this incredible woman, something Butterfinger Blizzard-inspired needed to happen. So I made these ah-mazing sandwich cookies. They are completely mind blowing. If you are in to drinking milk, you should probably have a tall glass ready because these little guys are rich. The buttercream filling tastes so much like a Butterfinger Blizzard, I had to eat the leftovers with a spoon. It was a really good moment for me..

DSC_0242

The cookie is adapted from one of my favorite cookies over at Sally’s Baking Addiction, found here.

The buttercream is my own concoction. I am sorry, this was a naughty food blogger moment, but I didn’t use precise measurements for the buttercream filling, so you may need to tweak it by adding more powdered sugar or more half and half. Yes, I use half and half in my buttercreams when possible. Why? Because fat makes food taste delicious, and if you are going to eat a sweet treat, it might as well be worth it. To achieve the perfect texture for the frosting you are going to want to chop some of the Butterfingers into bigger pieces, and crush other Butterfingers into a powder. The Butterfinger powder also creates a thicker, more Blizzard-y buttercream.

DSC_0232

I really hope you enjoy these cookies. I am pretty obsessed, and will be looking for another opportunity to make them again!!

Butterfinger Blizzard Sandwich Cookies
Adapted from this recipe

Makes 15 sandwiches
Ingredients
For the cookies:
• 3/4 cup (1.5 sticks) unsalted butter, softened to room temperature
• 3/4 cup dark brown sugar
• 1/4 cup granulated sugar
• 1 large egg, at room temperature
• 2 teaspoons vanilla extract
• 2 cups all-purpose flour
• 2 teaspoons cornstarch
• 1 teaspoon baking soda
• 1/2 teaspoon salt
• 1 ½ cups chopped Butterfingers (approximately 12 fun sized)

For the filling:
• ¼ cup (4 tablespoons) room temperature butter
•  1 ½ cups powdered sugar
• 4-5 tablespoons half and half
• 1 teaspoon vanilla
• 10 fun sized Butterfingers, chopped/crushed
Directions:
In a large bowl cream the butter and sugars together with a mixer on medium speed until fluffy and light in color. Mix in egg and vanilla. On low speed, mix in flour, cornstarch, baking soda and salt. Stir in Butterfingers. Chill dough (covered) for at least 30 minutes.
Preheat oven to 350F. Drop balls of dough onto an ungreased cookie sheet. Bake for 8-9 minutes, until barely golden brown around the edges. Do NOT cook them longer than 9 minutes. Remove and let cool for 5-10 minutes on the cookie sheet. Transfer to cooling rack.
While the cookies cool, prepare the filling. I like the filling of these cookies to be thicker than piping consistency. You should be able to scoop it with a spoon. Beat powdered sugar (starting with 3 cups), butter, half and half, and vanilla until desired consistency is reached. Add more half and half if the filling is too thick or powdered sugar if it is too thin. Gently fold in Butterfingers.

When cookies have cooled completely, make sandwiches by dropping filling on to the baked side of one cookie, then top with the baked side of the second cookie to make a sandwich.
 

To store:
If these cookies aren’t eaten right away, store in the refrigerator for 1-2 days or freezer for several weeks.

4 thoughts on “Butterfinger Blizzard Sandwich Cookies

  1. Butterfinger was the kind of blizzards I would get growing up going to Dairy Queen!! I LOVE blizzards. I haven’t had one it WAY to long. And I’m so glad you used my favorite cookie as the “bread” for the sandwiches 🙂

Leave a Reply

