Mint Oreo Blizzard Cupcakes

Hi friends. It’s been a while, hasn’t it? We have been in the midst of major life changes, which I have alluded to in previous posts. Well, I’m back, and my world has stopped spinning wildly out of control, so that’s a good thing. We are getting settled in our new, larger and in charger city. It is so fun to explore a new place. We live within walking distance of a great park and a lake, so I kind of feel like I’m on an extended lake house vacation during which I work and do other day-to-day things. (Like bake!). We are renting our house, so we are still in transition, but life is good.

You know when you move, and you are pretty much unpacked but you still have some random boxes in your basement or spare room? Then you go looking for your iron and discover your favorite Tupperware that you totally forgot about? Well that kind of happened to me with this recipe! I made these cupcakes when I was still on my Blizzard-inspired dessert kick, and I totes forgot to share them with you! I made these for St. Patrick’s day, so you can just thank me for being really well prepared for your office St. Patrick’s Day potluck next year.

DSC_0299

These cupcakes use a Devil’s Food cake mix (doctored up), and are fancied up with Mint Oreo Buttercream. You can even add an extra surprise by putting a whole Oreo cookie a the bottom of each cupcake. They fit perfectly. A coincidence? Me thinks not.

DSC_0298

I added a teaspoon of vanilla to this recipe and made up the buttercream on the fly, but a good one to follow is here.

DSC_0305

A tip for the cupcake: sneak in a little extra Mint Oreo love by putting a whole cookie at the bottom of your cupcake liner before filling with batter. Then bake like normal.

A tip for the buttercream: instead of crushing your cookies in a bag, chop them roughly and fold them in to the buttercream as your final step. It will give a crunchier texture.

DSC_0304

I’ve really missed blogging and baking, and am happy to say I’ve been back in the kitchen dreaming up new delicious sweet treats the last few weeks!

Enjoy!

2 thoughts on “Mint Oreo Blizzard Cupcakes

Leave a Reply

