Salted Caramel Icebox S’mores

Living in a new city means I get to explore all the new restaurants, shops, and museums. It only seems appropriate that I find a my favorite local confectionary, so on the top of the list for me was visiting an amazing candy store called Candy Land. My new co-workers spent an entire lunch hour talking about this magical place, and let me tell you, it did not disappoint!

DSC_0036

One of the delicious sweet treats I tried was a s’mores. Yes, I know, not that innovative, but oh-so-delicious! It was very basic, yet very delicious. Marshmallow sandwiched between grahams covered in chocolate.  That got me thinking about making my own version at home. The time came when we had a backyard BBQ this past weekend. I had some leftover caramel buttercream, so I decided to make salted caramel s’mores for the occasion. I used the leftover caramel buttercream from my Take 5 Cupcakes and added those to the marshmallow fluff filling. Then, I dipped the s’mores in milk chocolate and dusted them with kosher salt. I recommend adding a generous amount of caramel buttercream to these babies, because the flavor can get lost with the chocolate.

DSC_0031

The sprinkles on top are optional, but I like the extra texture they give. I call these Icebox Smore’s because they were really good cold, and the chocolate started to melt in our warm house when they were left out for a longer period of time.

DSC_0039

These are ideal for sharing with guests at a BBQ because they are easy to assemble, store, and make ahead. You could even get some fun sprinkles for you 4th of July party!

Ice Box S’mores

Ingredients

Sheets of Graham Crackers split down the middle (the short way)

Marshmallow Fluff

Caramel Buttercream (recipe found in my Take 5 Cupcake post)

Milk chocolate melting chocolate or Almond Bark

Coarse salt

Sprinkles (optional)

Directions

Split your Graham Crackers in half the short way, and sort two halves to make your “s’mores sandwich” To one side of each graham, add marshmallow fluff. To the other side of the graham, add a generous amount of caramel buttercream. Sandwich the two halves, and continue to work until all of your grahams are used. Heat chocolate in a deep microwave safe bowl in 30 second intervals until the chocolate is melted. Dip your s’mores into the chocolate until coated. Tap off extra by setting the s’more on a fork and tapping the fork against the bowl. Set s’mores on a wire rack on top of a cookie sheet and add a pinch of salt. Garnish with sprinkles. When you have made as many s’mores as you’d like, transfer the wire rack/cookie sheet to the refrigerator to allow the chocolate to set up.  Serve cold.

Note: another delicious version of this would be to combine the marshmallow fluff with caramel ice cream topping to add a fluffier, caramel-ier version of these s’mores. Let me know what you think!

2 thoughts on “Salted Caramel Icebox S’mores

  1. These are the best. They melt quickly in the summer time heat. But licking the salty, chocolatey, caramely goodness from your fingers is the second best part. First best being actually devouring this delicious treat. :]

Leave a Reply

