Cake Batter Chex Mix

Fun Fact: when I was a kid I wanted to be one of two things. First, a cat. If I couldn’t be a cat, then I really wanted to be a Blurb Writer. I know what you are thinking.. Why are you a nurse?! Clearly, becoming a cat was harder than I had anticipated. Turns out becoming a different species isn’t something that one can achieve in this lifetime. So, I thought to myself, Self, wouldn’t it be great to be that person that gets to eat the food, and look at the food, and describe the food at Applebee’s or Baker’s Square? All of those adjectives and fudge covered pies made the little girl version of Emily Eats Sweet Treats swoon. I called that job a Blurb Writer. And I thought, that lady must have it made – she gets to eat food all day, look at pretty food pictures, AND describe the food. Amazing.

DSC_0979

Time passed and I guess I didn’t feel that Blurb Writer was a super attainable job, so I became a nurse, which is pretty good too. But, friends, something was missing. So I started this pretty ol’ blog. I started making lots of sweet treats. And eating sweet treats. And taking sweet treat pictures. And describing the sweet treats that I made and photographed. And then I realized, I am a Blurb Writer. And, I’m super excited about that. {I guess women really can have it all.} I somehow found my way back to a dream that I had when I was too young to realize that your work has to be more than eating cupcakes all day. So, Blurb Writer is my hobby, and I’m satisfied.

DSC_0976

So, let me give you my best blurb writer description of my Cake Batter Chex Mix.

Rice chex and pretzels are tossed with Vanilla Cupcake Goldfish and crushed Golden Vanilla Oreos to become a sweet and salty chex mix. Then, we cover it in decadent white chocolate, dust with Funfetti Cake Mix, and garnish with sprinkles. This Chex Mix will change the way you think about snacks.

What do you think? I love Blurb Writing.

DSC_0971

So, yes. This Chex Mix. Really easy to make, but so indulgent. It is reminiscent of Muddy Buddies/Puppy Chow because you add melted (white) chocolate to the Chex Mix and then sprinkle it with dry Funfetti Cake Mix (instead of powdered sugar like you would do with Muddy Buddies). I added extra sprinkles for flavor and texture and a full tablespoon of coarse salt at the end to balance out all of the sweetness that is happening, and I highly recommend you do this as well. This tastes likes cake batter and Chex Mix got together and a had a baby. I can’t. Stop. Eating. it.

DSC_0875

Cake Batter Chex Mix would be super fun to bring to a football or themed party – you can add sprinkles of the team colors. But, I will warn you now: this Chex Mix is very addicting. You can’t eat just a little. Consider yourself warned.

Enjoy!

Cake Batter Chex Mix

Ingredients

4 cups Rice Chex

4 Cups Mini Pretzel Twists

2 cups Vanilla Cupcake Flavored Goldfish (the whole bag)

14 Golden Birthday Cake flavored Oreos, crushed in large pieces

16 ounces of white chocolate chips/Almond Bark/CandiQuik

1/2 cup Funfetti Cake Mix

1/2 cup sprinkles

1 tablespoon salt, divided

Directions

Toss Chex, pretzels, Goldfish, and Oreos in a large bowl to combine.

Melt white chocolate in the microwave according to package directions.

Pour melted white chocolate over Chex mixture. Stir until Chex mixture is evenly coated with white chocolate.

Add cake mix, sprinkles, and 1/2 tablespoon salt to warm white chocolate mixture. Stir until evenly coated.

Pour Chex Mix in a single layer on a surface covered with parchment paper, sprinkle remaining salt, and allow to cool.

Store leftovers in an airtight container.

2 thoughts on “Cake Batter Chex Mix

Leave a Reply

