Pumpkin Pie Crescent Rolls

My favorite part about breakfast is Breakfast Dessert. It’s totally a thing. I’m a strong believer that every good breakfast and any decent Sunday Brunch needs to include a dessert portion. Your cinnamon sugar toast, your coffee cake, your scones, your french toast. I think we know what I mean. I decided to make pumpkin pie inspired crescents for breakfast recently, you know, for breakfast dessert. To me, crescent rolls used for breakfast are kind of like a croissant, but not so fancy-schmancy. A regular girl’s croissant!

DSC_0815

Personally, I wouldn’t think twice about a nice slice of Pumpkin Pie for breakfast, but I understand that some among us may not be as enthusiastic about that idea (a.k.a my husband). Enter the Pumpkin Pie Crescent Roll (a.k.a how I tricked my husband into eating Breakfast Dessert). Like most things in my life, I thought this was an original idea until I Googled and found some other good recipes, which I decided to adapt a little. The result is pumpkin pie flavored cream cheese filling sweetened with maple syrup rolled into a Pillsbury Crescent Roll. I threw in some candied pecans for texture and flavor, which is an optional addition to this recipe, although I would recommend it.

DSC_0820

These are little pockets of Breakfast Dessert heaven. Maple-y, creamy, pumpkin pie-y filling wrapped up in a convinent buttery, flaky crust. I coated them in cinnamon/sugar before baking (obvi.). The sugar caramelized slightly in the oven giving the crescent roll a wonderful texture.

DSC_0822

These puppies are super easy to make and assemble. They would be a great treat any day of the week, or as part of a special holiday brunch.

Enjoy!

Ingredients

2 tubes of “Original” Pillsbury Crescent Rolls

Pumpkin Pie Fillig

4 ounces of cream cheese (1/2 block)

1 cup of plain pumpkin puree

1 + 1/2 teaspoon pumpkin pie spice

1/2 teaspoon cinnamon

3-5 tablespoons maple syrup (sweetened to taste)

Candied Pecans

1/2 cup pecans

1 tablespoon butter

2 tablespoons brown sugar

1/2 teaspoon cinnamon

kosher salt to taste

Directions

Preheat oven as directed on package.

If you are using candied pecans, make these first: In a skillet over medium heat, melt butter. Add pecans and toss to coat with butter. Add brown sugar and cinnamon and stir until combined. Lay pecans on a plate or parchment paper, sprinkle with salt, and allow to cool.

For pumpkin filling: using an electric mixer or stand mixer fit with the paddle attachment, beat cream cheese and pumpkin on medium-high speed until smooth. Add spices and maple syrup to flavor and mix until combined.

To assemble: Roll crescents out per package directions. To each crescent, add a thin layer of pumpkin filling. Sprinkle with pecans, if using. Roll crescents. Dust with cinnamon and sugar. Place on a baking sheet lined with parchment paper or a Silpat.

Bake: according to package directs. Garnish with remaining pecans and serve warm.

One thought on “Pumpkin Pie Crescent Rolls

Leave a Reply

