Cake Batter Layer Bars

I guess I’ve been in a cake batter place recently. First I made this Cake Batter Chex Mix, and now theses layer bars.

Cake Batter Layer Bars from Emily Eats Sweet Treats

I am totally in love with the Birthday Cake flavored Oreos, so I knew I had to include them in a bar recipe. When I was developing this recipe, I found a pattern between cake batter recipes that I was researching. I realized that you can replace half of the flour in a given recipe with CAKE MIX and the end result tastes like CAKE BATTER. Mind. Blown.

Cake Batter Layer Bars from Emily Eats Sweet Treats

And that, my friend, is how these Cake Batter Layer Bars were born. The recipe is a basic blondie recipe with half of the flour substituted with cake mix. I also added sprinkles, which made the bars taste a little more cake batter-y. And, because I love you, I divided the batter evenly and put a layer of whole Cake Batter Oreo cookies in the bars. Got that layering system? It goes: blondies batter, cookies, blondies batter.

Cake Batter Layer Bars from Emily Eats Sweet Treats

Garnish with sprinkles, and enjoy!

Cake Batter Layer Bars

Ingredients

1/2 cup (1 stick) butter

1/2 cup white sugar

1/2 cup brown sugar

1 large egg

1 tsp vanilla

½ cup cake mix

½ cup flour

Pinch of salt

1/2 cup sprinkles

Birthday Cake flavored Oreos – chocolate or vanilla, I used Vanilla because that is what I had

Directions

Preheat to 350°

Melt butter. Whisk sugars with melted butter. Add egg and extract, and stir until combined

Add flour, cake batter, and salt. Gently fold in sprinkles, taking caution not to over mix.

Pour half batter into prepared 8×8 inch pan. Place whole Cake Batter Oreo cookies on batter. Pour remaining batter on top of cookies. Batter will be sticky, but you will be able to spread it over the top of the Oreos.

Bake for 25-30 minutes, until the top is set and the edges are golden brown. The bars will firm up as they cool. Err on the side of caution with this – a gooey center is a good thing!

4 thoughts on “Cake Batter Layer Bars

Leave a Reply

