Pumpkin Spice Crockpot Cake

If you follow me on Facebook, you might remember a call for Sweet Treat ideas for football food. (If you don’t follow me, you should! Click here, and hit “like”!) I have never truly been into football, and have always been in a cultural warp because of it. I am trying really hard to get behind a team, so if you have any suggestions, let me know.

Pumpkin Spice Crockpot Cake from Emily Eats Sweet Treats

Anyhoo, after careful observation I have determined a few things about football. For example, the food is really important. Nachos, chili, pizza, dips. I’m no anthropologist, but that is probably a majority of the reason why people watch the sport. I mean, what other reason do fully functioning adults abandon all weekend activities, choose to come inside on beautiful fall afternoons, and proceed to get extremely stressed out about men running around in tight pants fighting over a ball? Food. It makes so much sense now.

Pumpkin Spice Crockpot Cake from Emily Eats Sweet Treats

And, as we know, I really prefer food of the sweet variety, so I thought I should adapt some favorite football foods into desserts. I already made this dip, which has been really popular on Pinterest. Today, I made a cake that you can put in a crockpot and enjoy during the game. I’m calling this cake Pumpkin Spice Crockpot Cake, but it is supposed to be dessert version of chili: it’s made in a crockpot, serves a crowd, and you can put all sorts of awesome toppings on it! Calling it Pumpkin Spice Dessert Chili just didn’t have the same appeal, so cake it is.

Pumpkin Spice Crockpot Cake from Emily Eats Sweet Treats

This would be great for tailgating or making into a dessert bar. You can make your cake and then set up ice cream, whip cream, caramel sauce, nuts, sprinkles, etc., and let your football fans do the rest.

I hope you enjoy this super easy cake, and let me know what you think!

Pumpkin Spice Crockpot Cake

Ingredients

1 box Spice Cake mix

1 (3 oz) package of Pumpkin Spice flavored instant pudding (seasonal flavor, if you are making this out of season, you could substitute vanilla or caramel flavored instant pudding)

1 can (15 oz) pumpkin puree

4 eggs

1 cup water

¾ cup canola oil

1 cup caramel bits or chips

Directions

Spray 4 quart crockpot with cooking spray.

In a medium bowl, combine dry cake mix and instant pudding

In a separate, larger bowl, combine pumpkin puree, eggs, and water.

Add dry ingredients to pumpkin mixture. Stir in caramel bits.

Pour mixture in crockpot and set on low. Cook until the cake is set, about 6-8 hours.

Source: inspired by Chocolate Mess http://busycooks.about.com/od/dessertrecipe1/r/cpchocolatemess.htm

***

Do you love all things pumpkin as much as I do? Try these delicious and easy Pumpkin Pie Crescent Rolls!

Pumpkin Pie Crescent Rolls

Leave a Reply

