Mango Coconut Quick Bread

Obviously, I have a major sweet tooth. One cannot have a blog dedicated to all things confectionary without having a sweet tooth, so that shouldn’t come as a surprise. I used to feel a little conflicted about my love of desserts because I also like to feel healthy, but I decided a while back to just own it. I’m reclaiming the sweet tooth, just like feminists reclaimed the B word. It’s my own subversive movement!

Mango Coconut Quick Bread

That doesn’t mean, however, that I am gluttonous and covered in cake batter at all times. As lovely as that would be, I would feel pretty gross after a while. I haven’t discovered it, but I’m pretty sure there is an upper limit to how many sprinkles one person can consume in a day and live to tell about it.

Mango Coconut Quick Bread

Do you know why one feels icky after consuming cups and cups of sprinkles? It’s all about blood sugar friends. (Yes, I’m going to lay down a little knowledge here, so if you don’t care for the science-y information scroll down to the recipe.)

White sugars and flours, which are found in most of the treats on my site, are made from simple carbohydrates. They are digested easily and released into your blood stream. So, when you eat a cupcake, your body quickly processes all of the yumminess and converts the carbohydrates into sugars. Thusly, your blood sugar rises quickly. It also falls quickly. You feel perky for a quick minute, and then you crash.

The crash = the ick.

Meanwhile, complex carbohydrates (i.e. whole grains) are digested slowly because they are harder to break down. They are absorbed more slowly into the blood stream. You avoid the crash, and avoid the ick. If you add a little protein to your complex carbohydrate snack, you will have more sustained energy and avoid the icky crash.

Mango Coconut Quick Bread

So, how does one reconcile her love of the sweets AND the need to be (somewhat) healthy? One makes healthy sweet treats! That don’t taste like cardboard! This recipe calls for whole wheat flour, oat flour, Greek yogurt, and 1 cup (nearly one full pound) of pureed mango. I also added shredded coconut for texture and flavor. I would suggest unsweetened coconut if you can find it and if you are truly limiting your sugar intake. I made my oat flour by putting dry “Old Fashioned” oats (not minute oats) into a food processor and processing it for several minutes until it resembled flour. I used pineapple Greek yogurt in this recipe, although mango, vanilla, or lime would also be very good. I sweetened this recipe with a little bit of honey and brown sugar. If you are looking for a sweetener with a lower glycemic index profile, you could try agave nectar.

Mango Coconut Quick Bread

This recipe is super adaptable, and I plan to use the base for other treats. I hope you enjoy!

Mango Coconut Quick Bread

Ingredients

1 + ½ cup whole wheat flour

1 cup oat flour

1 teaspoon baking soda

¼ teaspoon salt

½  teaspoon vanilla extract

¼ cup honey

¼ cup packed brown sugar

1 cup roughly pureed mango ** (so there are large chunks with thinner, more pureed fruit; about 4 pulses in a food processor)

1 cup 2% pineapple yogurt

1 large egg, beaten

1 cup shredded coconut

Directions

Preheat to 325° spray loaf pan with non-stick spray

In a large bowl, combine flour, baking soda, and salt.

In a separate bowl, mix the honey and brown sugar until smooth. Add pureed mango, yogurt, and egg. Stir until ingredients are combined.

Slowly mix wet ingredients into dry ingredients. Fold in coconut, taking care not to over mix.

Pour into prepared loaf pan.

Bake for approximately 1 hour and 30 minutes, until a toothpick comes out clean.

** Note: I used thawed frozen mango, and it turned out beautifully

2 thoughts on “Mango Coconut Quick Bread

Leave a Reply

