Chewy Chocolate Cookies Three Ways

It seems like the older I get the more I wonder where the time goes. I’m sorry for my absence on this space, friends. I can’t believe its been so long since I’ve last updated and shared a recipe! Life has been pretty busy around here. Lots of new and exciting changes in my life have taken my attention away from the old bloggy blog. I decided when I started this project that it would be a hobby, so that means that my posts aren’t always as frequent as I’d like. And, I have to warn you, I will not be updating much in the next several weeks because we are moving again, I have a 2nd birthday party to plan, and I am studying and sitting for a professional exam.

It is a bit sad because I have so many holiday food ideas to share, and I know I won’t get to them all. I hope, however, to have a few occasional recipes posted, so please continue to check the blog and Facebook page!

 

Chewy Chocolate Cookies from Emily Eats Sweet Treats

 

 

Today’s recipe is adapted from one of my first recipes I posted. I was really proud of it becasue I had created it myself. I’ve been working on the recipe, and here is the improved producted! I tweaked the recipe slightly to make a better, more rich cookie. First, I decreased the butter slightly because the original dough’s ratios were a bit off and the cookies spread more than I liked. I also added a touch of instant coffee granules, which brings out the milk chocolate flavor of these cookies.  This recipe is a great base for a chewy chocolate cookie. I love it because it is so adaptable, the combinations are endless.

 

Chewy Chocolate Cookies from Emily Eats Sweet Treats

 

I made this batch three different ways.

Combined with chopped Raspberry Dark Chocolate Ghiradelli Squares and white chocolate chips

Chewy Chocolate Cookies from Emily Eats Sweet Treats

 

Adapted to be a Raspberry White Chocolate Hershey’s Kiss cookie

Chewy Chocolate Cookies from Emily Eats Sweet Treats

 

And, covered in sprinkles (my favorite!)

Chewy Chocolate Cookies from Emily Eats Sweet Treats

Chewy Chocolate Cookies

Ingredients

1 cup butter, softened

1 + ¼ cups white sugar

¾ cup dark brown sugar

2 eggs

2 teaspoons vanilla

2 cups flour

¾ cup unsweetened cocoa powder

1 teaspoon baking soda

2 teaspoon corn starch

½ teaspoon salt

1/8 teaspoon instant coffee granules

Directions

Cream butter and sugars until fluffy.

Beat in eggs one at a time. Add vanilla.

Combine flour, cocoa powder, baking soda, corn starch, salt, and coffee granules in a separate bowl.

Slowly add dry ingredients to wet ingredients. Add white chocolate chips and junior mints into the dough and carefully stir to combine.

{I would recommend here that you refrigerate cookie dough for at least 30 minutes.}

Drop balls of dough onto a cookie sheet lined with parchment paper or a Silpat. Bake a 350 for 8-9 minutes. Cookies will appear slightly undercooked , but you should remove them from the oven. Allow cookies to cool on the pan for 5 minutes and then transfer to wire racks.

**Adaptations**

To make Chewy Chocolate Cookies with Chopped Raspberry Dark Chocolate Ghiradelli Squares and White Chocolate Chips:  Make recipe as directed. Fold in 12 chopped Raspberry Dark Chocolate Ghiradelli Squares and 1 cup of white chocolate chips before chilling dough. Roll as directed.

To make Raspberry White Chocolate Hershey’s Kiss cookies: Make recipe as directed. Bake as directed. Immediately after taking the cookies out of the oven, press a Raspberry White Chocolate Hershey’s Kiss onto the cookie.

To make Chewy Chocolate Sprinkles cookies: Make recipe as directed. Allow to cool for at least 30 minutes. Roll dough into balls and then roll the balls into sprinkles, taking care to cover the entire exterior with sprinkles. Bake as directed.

One thought on “Chewy Chocolate Cookies Three Ways

Leave a Reply

