Farm Birthday Cake

I’m dealing with a serious case of writer’s block. I don’t know where to start after so many weeks away. Perhaps a quick life update? We moved (again), the holidays happened (I ate too much, relaxed, and reflected on how lucky I am), and I passed my professional exam. Finally, I have a few minutes to sit down and reflect on the past two months. Aside from the holidays, a major highlight was watching my son Trick or Treat for the first time. He was a green dinosaur this year complete with a tail and shoe covers (homemade by Grandma Eats Sweet Treats!).  The look on his face when he realized that everyone was GIVING HIM CANDY was priceless. We had so much fun watching him proudly go from house to house showing off his dinosaur roar; I was full of joy. I honestly don’t know who had more fun, the kiddo or the parents.

Another exciting event was Kiddo’s birthday party. He has a December birthday and turned two this year. Kiddo loves all things farm, especially JOHN DEERE tractors. Don’t get me wrong, other tractors are neat, but there is just something about a John Deere. It is a bit (strange? odd? ironic?) that Kiddo loves the farm so much because he has always lived in a city. Maybe he just longs for the simpler things in life? 😉

DSC_0582

Kiddo’s cake was a multistep process, and I had a lot of fun making it. I made a from-scratch funfetti cake from Sally’s Blog. This was the first time I made the cake, and I didn’t love how it turned out. I have since made it again, and really, really enjoyed it. It is probably one of my favorite cakes, and it freezes well too. The first cakes I made were dry and dense. Why? I got sloppy with measuring the dry ingredients, and the ratio of dry to wet ingredients were off. I also didn’t read the recipe all the way through the first time, and didn’t cover the cakes with foil initially. When I made this recipe again it turned out amazing. It will definitely be my go to cake for parties or everyday enjoyment.DSC_0580

I made butter cream grass using my favorite recipe and this piping tip. Finally, I made sugar cookie farm animals and lined the perimeter of the cake with them.

Farm Cake

It has been a fast, exciting, and exhausting two months, and I am glad to be back at the keyboard. I hope you all had a lovely end to 2013 and that 2014 brings you blessings and good health.

2 thoughts on “Farm Birthday Cake

Leave a Reply

